Log in
Se habla español

Online Divorce
in Georgia

  • User-friendly platform
  • Reduced cost and avoided fees
  • Completed divorce forms in 2 business days
  • Step-by-step filing instructions
  • Great customer service
  • Without expensive law attorney

Do you qualify for
an online divorce?

Georgia Flag
Do you know the location of your spouse?
Is your spouse in agreement regarding this divorce and willing to sign the divorce papers with you?
Do you and your spouse have any children under the age of 18 from this marriage?
Georgia Divorce

Why Online Divorce is
a Good Idea

Online divorce refers to the process of preparing the paperwork necessary for initiating an uncontested divorce case in the state. In this case, divorcing spouses don't need to work directly with an attorney. Instead, they can easily complete divorce forms at their own pace, thereby saving thousands of dollars on attorney's services.

Usually, the preparation of divorce documents begins by answering a simple marriage-related survey. Then, the system guides a person through each step of completing divorce papers. Within two business days, soon-to-be-ex spouses can download ready-to-sign documents that comply with local laws and requirements, along with a filing guide.

However, if spouses fail to reach a mutual agreement on divorce-related terms, they will be required to hire a well-experienced attorney to protect their interests in court. In other words, online divorce is not suitable for contested divorce cases.

Divorce Preparation Cost

Contested Divorce

  • Expensive lawyers
  • Disagreements between spouses
  • Lengthy litigation
  • The need to adjust your schedule for court hearings
  • The court makes decisions that do not always satisfy the wishes of the parties

Online Divorce $299

  • Affordable prices
  • Clear step-by-step instructions
  • No need to hire expensive lawyers
  • Transparent process
  • Download completed forms in just 2 business days
  • 24/7 customer support
  • Convenient and understandable system

DIY Divorce

  • It can be difficult to fill out forms yourself
  • A Court rejects the case if the forms have any mistakes
  • It's not suitable for those who have even small disputes
  • It may lead to unexpected expenses
  • It takes more time
Georgia Divorce Forms

Georgia Divorce Forms

In Georgia, necessary divorce forms differ from case to case. But each resident of this state should be prepared to submit the following documents:

  • Complaint for Divorce
  • Standing Order of the Court
  • Standing Order on Parenting Seminars
  • Verification
  • Domestic Relations Financial Affidavits
  • Summons
  • Acknowledgment of Service
  • Consent To Trial
  • Affidavit to Obtain Decree (with Minor Children)
  • Affidavit to Obtain Decree (without Minor Children)
  • Answer and Counterclaim
  • Certificate of Service
  • Income Deduction Order
  • Child Support Addendum
  • Child Support Worksheet
  • Parenting Plan
  • Rule Nisi
  • Settlement Agreement (with Minor Children)
  • Settlement Agreement (without Minor Children)
  • Final Judgement and Decree Incorporating Settlement Agreement with Minor Children
  • Final Judgement and Decree Incorporating Settlement Agreement without Minor Children
  • Final Judgement and Decree - No Settlement Agreement
  • State of Georgia Report of Divorce, Annulment, or Dissolution of Marriage
  • Final Case Disposition Information Form
  • Motion for Service by Publication
  • Notice of Publication
  • Order for Service by Publication
  • Order Perfecting Service by Publication
  • Affidavit of Poverty
  • Order on Affidavit of Poverty
Filling Out Divorce Forms in Georgia

Filling Out Divorce Forms in Georgia

Filling out divorce paperwork is one of the most important steps in any divorce process, as improperly prepared documents can lead to case dismissal. To avoid it and make sure you don't have to start all over again, you should get acquainted with Georgia laws and regulations.

Before filling out any papers, take into consideration the recommendations listed below:

  1. Contact the local county clerk to obtain appropriate blank forms for your divorce case.
  2. Instead of meeting with the local county clerk, you can download the complete list of divorce papers on your county's court website.
  3. Gather important information regarding the division of marital assets and debts (as well as other issues in your divorce like support or custody and visitation of your children).
  4. Discuss all divorce-related aspects with your partners one more time to ensure you have the same view of the marriage termination process.
  5. Fill out documents following the technical guidelines and local requirements.
  6. Proofread divorce forms for errors, typos, and incorrect information.

Alternatively, you can use services offered by . Thanks to this platform, divorcing spouses can quickly prepare and print all the necessary paperwork for a fair price.

Steps for Divorce in Georgia

To initiate the divorce process in Georgia, residents of this state should follow several significant steps.
Let's dive deeper into this topic.

Grounds for Divorce

Grounds for Divorce

Initial Filling

Initial Filing

Court Fees

Court Fees

Serving a Spouse

Serving a Spouse

Finalizing a Divorce

Finalizing a Divorce

Grounds for Divorce

Georgia is a no-fault state, which means that spouses living in this state have the opportunity to apply for a divorce based on irreconcilable differences. Simply put, to file for a divorce, it is enough to demonstrate to the court that there's no chance either of you can fix it.

Also, Georgia accepts fault-based grounds for divorce. By selecting this type of divorce, you will need to provide proof of your accusations to the court.

Currently, the fault-based grounds for divorce accepted in Georgia include:

  1. Intermarriage by persons within the prohibited degrees of consanguinity or affinity
  2. Mental incapacity
  3. Impotency
  4. Force, menace, duress, or fraud in obtaining the marriage
  5. Pregnancy of the wife by a man other than the husband
  6. Adultery
  7. Willful and continued desertion
  8. The conviction of either party
  9. Habitual intoxication
  10. Cruel treatment
  11. Incurable mental illness
  12. Habitual drug addiction

Initial Filing

To initiate the divorce process, the plaintiff (the spouse who files for the divorce) should file the divorce paperwork with the Clerk's Office of the Superior Court of the Georgia county in which they or the served party (defendant) reside.

Court Fees

In Georgia, the filing fees vary from county to county, but the average payment that most divorcing spouses need to release when filing divorce forms is $230.

Serving a Spouse

After the plaintiff files divorce forms, they are required to inform the other party that legal action has been taken against them.

Georgia law requires its residents to serve divorce papers in one of the following ways:

  1. By delivering copies of divorce papers to the defendant personally.
  2. By mailing the paperwork to the defendant.
  3. By having either the local sheriff's deputy or a private process server deliver the divorce documents.
  4. If the defendant cannot be located, the plaintiff will have to serve by publication.

Finalizing a Divorce

In Georgia, there are two ways to finalize an uncontested divorce – by a final hearing or by a Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings. The way divorce is finalized mainly depends on the judge assigned to the case.

Getting a Divorce Without a Lawyer in Georgia

Getting a Divorce Without a Lawyer

Do-it-yourself (DIY) divorce means that spouses are willing to complete the marriage termination process without the aid of a divorce law attorney. However, not all couples qualify for this option. You are a good candidate for a DIY divorce only if you meet the requirements outlined below:

  • You and your spouse have a full agreement on each term of the divorce;
  • You have a solid legal background (or you have the time to research your state's law, gather the documentation, and follow through with court filings and appearances);
  • Your spouse is not a danger to you or your children.

The main reason people use this method of ending their marriage is that it is cheap. Although the court's mandatory filing fees can't be avoided in most cases, a DIY divorce can significantly reduce attorney's fees. At the same time, if you are unsure of your legal rights, a DIY divorce may be a poor choice for you.

Getting a Divorce with Children in Georgia

Getting a Divorce with Children in Georgia

The welfare of children is of major concern to the Superior Court, which is why all divorcing couples with minor children are required to address child-related issues before dissolving their marriages. Most terms related to children are discussed in three divorce forms: Parenting Plan, Child Support Addendum, and Child Support Worksheet.

Child Custody

Neither parent is automatically entitled to legal or physical custody, as the judge always considers the child's best interests when it comes to this part of the divorce. In Georgia, to determine the child's best interests, the judge usually takes into account the following factors:

  1. the child's age and personal preferences;
  2. the child's relationships with other family members, such as siblings, half-siblings, or step-siblings who are in either parent's home;
  3. each parent's physical and mental health;
  4. each parent's financial status;
  5. the ability of each parent to care for and nurture the child;
  6. any history of physical abuse, sexual abuse, or neglect of children by either parent.

Child Support

In Georgia, both parents are required to support their children financially until a child reaches the age of twenty, dies, graduates from high school, marries, becomes emancipated, or joins the military. According to child support guidelines approved in this state, the child support obligation should be calculated based on the Percentage of Income formula. To estimate the average monthly child support payment, you can use the Georgia Child Support Calculator.

Waiting Period in Georgia

Waiting Period in Georgia

All divorcing couples should go through a mandatory 30-day waiting period once divorce papers are filed with a Superior Court.

However, even the simplest case without any divorce-related disputes may take around 2-3 months to finalize, which can be explained by a heavy court caseload.

Things you can do to make the divorce process as soon as possible:

  • Find a mutual agreement with your spouse regarding property division, spousal support, child custody, etc.
  • Provide in-depth information about all the parties to the case.
  • Strictly follow local filing and serving processes.

Residency Requirements

To apply for a divorce in Georgia, the couple must have a valid marriage and residence/domicile in the state. The local residency requirement is as follows:

At least one of the parties must have been a legal resident of the state for a minimum of six months before the divorce case is started. Besides, this six-month period must be consecutive.

The divorce is typically filed in the county where the filing spouse resides.

If the residency requirement is not fulfilled, the divorce case will most likely be dismissed.

Residency Requirements in Georgia

Frequently Asked Questions

Our Customer Commitment

  • Thousands of dollars saved in legal fees
  • Easy and fast process
  • Up-to-date and 100% accurate forms
  • Phone and email help from our experienced customer care specialists
  • Unlimited changes to your forms within 30 days
  • Ideal solution for home and abroad military members
  • Optional last will and testament completion and storage ($500 value)

Customer Feedback