Log in
Se habla español

Online Divorce
in Minnesota

  • Straightforward platform
  • Fast and stressless process
  • Completed legal forms within 2 business days
  • Free step by step filing instructions
  • Available anytime for any device
  • Operative customer support 24/7
  • Low-cost price with no hidden fees

Do you qualify for
an online divorce?

Minnesota Flag
Do you know the location of your spouse?
Is your spouse in agreement regarding this divorce and willing to sign the divorce papers with you?
Do you and your spouse have any children under the age of 18 from this marriage?
Minnesota Divorce

Why Online Divorce is
a Good Idea

Online divorce is a super convenient and cost-effective option for those couples who have an uncontested divorce in Minnesota. First, you don't have to go anywhere and adjust to the usually busy schedule of a divorce lawyer. Secondly, it is cheaper than even the most budgetary flat-rate lawyer for uncontested cases.

So, how does the service work?

The couple fills out a special questionnaire based on the answers in which the system selects and fills out the necessary divorce forms. Then, within two business days, partners receive ready-made forms for download. This is very convenient, as you have access to the documents 24/7 and can make changes to them from any device. Also, the platform offers detailed filing instructions for each state, including Minnesota.

Divorce Preparation Cost

Contested Divorce

  • Expensive lawyers
  • Disagreements between spouses
  • Lengthy litigation
  • The need to adjust your schedule for court hearings
  • The court makes decisions that do not always satisfy the wishes of the parties

Online Divorce $299

  • Affordable prices
  • Clear step-by-step instructions
  • No need to hire expensive lawyers
  • Transparent process
  • Download completed forms in just 2 business days
  • 24/7 customer support
  • Convenient and understandable system

DIY Divorce

  • It can be difficult to fill out forms yourself
  • A Court rejects the case if the forms have any mistakes
  • It's not suitable for those who have even small disputes
  • It may lead to unexpected expenses
  • It takes more time
Minnesota Divorce Forms

Minnesota Divorce Forms

The necessary forms for divorce may vary depending on the features of the case, the presence or absence of children, etc. So, according to The Judicial Branch of Minnesota, spouses who want to file for divorce without children in Minnesota must complete the following forms:

  • Summons
  • Petition for Dissolution without Children
  • Admission of Service
  • Notice to County Support & Collections
  • Answer and Counter Petition without Children
  • Notice of Intent to Proceed to Judgment
  • Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Order for Judgment and Judgment and Decree
  • Affidavit of Default
  • Affidavit of Non-Military Status
  • Stipulated Findings of Fact

If the couple has common children, they must fill out the following forms:

  • Affidavit of Personal Service — Dissolution with Children
  • Answer and Counter Petition with Children
  • Petition for Divorce with Children
Filling Out Divorce Forms in Minnesota

Filling Out Divorce Forms in Minnesota

To start divorce proceedings without a lawyer in Minnesota, spouses need to find and fill out several required forms. They can get the paperwork they need online (at The Judicial Branch of Minnesota site) or contact a local court clerk.

Also, ex-partners can request the required package of documents from the law library and seek help from CompleteCase.com to obtain completed forms. When filling out divorce papers in Minnesota, a couple should take into account the following main points:

  1. To begin a divorce in Minnesota, one spouse must fill out or write a Summons and Petition for Dissolution of Marriage. In addition, the petitioner must include information about the marriage like income, debts, children, and any property owned within the Petition.
  2. After they fill out the Petition, it must be served to the receiving spouse and filed with the district court. Service must be done by a third party, who can be a friend, the sheriff, or a professional server.
  3. After service, the receiving spouse must file an Answer. For example, suppose parties agree on the conditions of their divorce. In that case, they may file a Stipulated Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Order for Judgment, and Judgment and Decree putting them on a fast track to ending their marriage.
  4. However, if the receiving spouse disagrees with the petitioning spouse, they may serve the petitioner an Answer explaining why they disagree.

Steps for Divorce in Minnesota

The divorce process in Minnesota consists of the steps outlined below.

Grounds for Divorce

Grounds for Divorce

Initial Filling

Initial Filing

Court Fees

Court Fees

Serving a Spouse

Serving a Spouse

Finalizing a Divorce

Finalizing a Divorce

Grounds for Divorce

Although Minnesota is considered a no-fault divorce state (the court does not require one spouse to blame the other for the divorce), this does not mean that the judge only grants a divorce to a couple at their request. The spouses must show the court why the divorce is necessary, even if both parties agree to the separation.

In Minnesota, ex-partners need to prove that the marriage has ended irrevocably and have no chance of reconciliation. This can be done if:

  • The spouses lived separately and apart for at least 180 days;
  • There is a severe marital discord that adversely affects the attitude of one (or both) spouses toward marriage;
  • There is no reasonable prospect of reconciliation.

Initial Filing

In Minnesota, spouses need to find and fill out various forms to start divorce proceedings. Soon-to-be ex-partners can request a divorce packet online (at The Judicial Branch of Minnesota site), from the local court or law library.

If the couple has a Settlement Agreement, they can file a "Joint Petition for Dissolution of Marriage" (with or without children). Filing such a petition in Minnesota simplifies the process and saves money on filing fees. Also, there are separate forms for an even more straightforward divorce process called "Summary Dissolution."

Note that Minnesota allows couples to file divorce forms electronically. However, once the spouses do that, they have to use e-filing for any other documents they have to file for the rest of their divorce.

Court Fees

The petitioner needs to pay a fee to file divorce documents. The basic statewide filing fee is $365, but county district courts add small additional fees.

Serving a Spouse

The plaintiff must serve the defendant with copies of all documents they filed with the court. The claimant must have someone over 18 (friend, family member, or sheriff) personally serve the divorce forms directly to the respondent for personal service.

Finalizing a Divorce

If spouses filed a joint divorce petition in Minnesota, they might not have to do anything else to finalize the divorce. First, a judge will review the paperwork, including the Settlement Agreement. Then, the judge will sign the final divorce decree, and the couple will receive a notice in the mail that the divorce is final. Also, there is no waiting period in MN.

Getting a Divorce Without a Lawyer in Minnesota

Getting a Divorce Without a Lawyer

Since attorneys in Minnesota charge between $260 and $330 an hour, this service can be prohibitively expensive for many. Obviously, a divorce without a lawyer will cost many times less. However, before coming to a DIY divorce, the spouses must have a Settlement Agreement and make sure that their divorce is uncontested.

In the case of significant assets for division, the presence of children where the couple cannot agree on custody, domestic violence, etc., it is necessary to have a lawyer.

If all of the above does not apply to spouses and they have agreements on all points, it is more profitable and efficient to have a do-it-yourself divorce. However, despite its quick and efficient process, selecting and filling out divorce forms can cause stress and confusion.

A couple can always turn to CompleteCase.com for help. Within two business days, it will help generate the necessary paperwork based on the details of a particular case. Also, the service offers detailed and straightforward instructions for filing out in every state, including Minnesota.

Getting a Divorce with Children in Minnesota

Getting a Divorce with Children in Minnesota

Child Custody

There are two types of guardianship in Minnesota — physical and legal.

Physical custody is the daily care and control of the child (bathing, raising, preparing food for the child, etc.). Legal custody is the ability to make crucial decisions for a child. For example, these are issues related to education, religion, and health care.

In Minnesota, two parents can have joint physical custody of their children, which does not mean that children have to spend the same amount of time in each home. The only requirement is that the children live in each household for a set period of time.

Child Support

Child support is a monthly payment that a parent pays to cover raising a child. Both parents are financially responsible for the child. The parent with primary physical custody who takes care of the child most of the time will usually receive child support because the law assumes that the parent is already spending money directly on the child. The parent with less parental time usually pays child support.

In Minnesota, parents must pay child support until the child turns 18, but there are some exceptions. Payments stop when, for example, the child becomes emancipated — when they marry with the consent of their parents, enter the military, etc.

Waiting Period in Minnesota

Waiting Period in Minnesota

Minnesota does not have a waiting period like many other states. So, the couple can immediately receive a final court decree upon finding an irretrievable breakdown in an uncontested divorce. Also, the decree can be appealed.

However, many factors influence the duration of the divorce process: how quickly the plaintiff will serve all copies of documents to the defendant, whether one of the spouses will express disagreement about some point in the divorce, how busy the court will be, etc.

Residency Requirements

To obtain a divorce in Minnesota, spouses must meet the residency requirement.

  1. One of the spouses must have resided in this state or be a member of the armed forces stationed in this state for at least 180 days before filing for divorce.
  2. One of the spouses is a domiciliary of this state for not less than 180 days immediately before filing for divorce.

If one of the spouses doesn't meet at least one of the above Minnesota residency requirements, they can:

  • Establish residency in Minnesota for the period time set forth above;
  • Have the other spouse do the filing if they meet the Minnesota residency requirements;
  • Choose another state in which one of the spouses meets the requirements.
Residency Requirements in Minnesota

Frequently Asked Questions

Our Customer Commitment

  • Thousands of dollars saved in legal fees
  • Easy and fast process
  • Up-to-date and 100% accurate forms
  • Phone and email help from our experienced customer care specialists
  • Unlimited changes to your forms within 30 days
  • Ideal solution for home and abroad military members
  • Optional last will and testament completion and storage ($500 value)

Customer Feedback