Log in
Se habla español

Online Divorce
in Michigan

  • Easy-to-use, quality service
  • No hidden fees
  • Ready-to-file divorce forms in 2 business days
  • Step-by-step filing instructions
  • Intuitive website navigation
  • Outstanding online customer support

Do you qualify for
an online divorce?

Michigan Flag
Do you know the location of your spouse?
Is your spouse in agreement regarding this divorce and willing to sign the divorce papers with you?
Do you and your spouse have any children under the age of 18 from this marriage?
Michigan Divorce

Why Online Divorce is
a Good Idea

Online divorce is a low-cost and convenient way to complete all necessary documents for no-fault, uncontested divorces. In this case, spouses can apply for a marriage dissolution without involving divorce law attorneys, thereby saving lots of time and money.

How does it work?

All you need to do is go through a series of questions at your own pace. The answers you provide are then used to produce divorce paperwork, which is why you should be very attentive during this step. After that, you should follow simple instructions provided by the online platform. In terms of two business days, divorcing couples usually can download a full set of completed divorce papers that comply with local laws, requirements, and case specifics.

Divorce Preparation Cost

Contested Divorce

  • Expensive lawyers
  • Disagreements between spouses
  • Lengthy litigation
  • The need to adjust your schedule for court hearings
  • The court makes decisions that do not always satisfy the wishes of the parties

Online Divorce $299

  • Affordable prices
  • Clear step-by-step instructions
  • No need to hire expensive lawyers
  • Transparent process
  • Download completed forms in just 2 business days
  • 24/7 customer support
  • Convenient and understandable system

DIY Divorce

  • It can be difficult to fill out forms yourself
  • A Court rejects the case if the forms have any mistakes
  • It's not suitable for those who have even small disputes
  • It may lead to unexpected expenses
  • It takes more time
Michigan Divorce Forms

Michigan Divorce Forms

The list of necessary divorce forms is unique in each case, which can be explained by differences in divorce-related matters and personal circumstances. At the same time, all divorcing couples should be prepared to submit the following documents when initiating a divorce in Michigan:

  • Summons [MC-01 (3/06)]
  • Complaint for Divorce
  • Marital Settlement Agreement
  • Judgment or Divorce
  • Default Request, Affidavit, Entry, and Judgment [MC-07A (5/07)]
  • Answer and Waiver
  • Request for Certificate of Military Service Status
  • Notice of Hearing [FOC-7 (10/04)]
  • Domestic Violence Screening (form MC 282a)
  • Domestic Relations Judgment Information (form FOC 100)
  • Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Enforcement Act Affidavit [MC-416 (5/07)]
  • Verified Statement and Application for IV-D Services [FOC-23 (9/06)]
  • Motion and Verification for Alternative Service [MC-303 (3/06)]
  • Order for Alternative Service [MC-304 (3/06)]
  • Order for Service by Publication/Posting and Notice of Action [MC-307 (8/88)]
  • Notice of Taking Records Deposition
Filling Out Divorce Forms in Michigan

Filling Out Divorce Forms in Michigan

Currently, all residents of Michigan have the opportunity to obtain divorce papers in one of the following ways:

After getting appropriate divorce forms, a petitioner should complete them by following several significant steps:

  1. Get acquainted with Michigan Family Law and the legal terminology used in divorce forms.
  2. Go through each divorce document to determine the type of information needed to fill them out properly.
  3. Discuss each divorce term with the partner to make sure spouses still agree on all aspects of marriage termination.
  4. If parties disagree on at least one divorce-related issue, they should think about using a mediator's services or applying for contested divorce (if there are many contested terms).
  5. If there are no disagreements, start filling out divorce paperwork according to the technical guidelines.
  6. Once all documents are completed, proofread them at least two times for typos, errors, and any inaccuracies.
  7. Correct them if necessary.

If you want to avoid challenges associated with the procedure of filling out divorce forms, you can use the services offered by ComplteCase.com. This online platform provides assistance in completing up-to-date divorce papers, so divorcing spouses can move forward with their divorce without any issues.

Steps for Divorce in Michigan

To apply for divorce in Michigan, residents of this state should follow several significant steps.

Grounds for Divorce

Grounds for Divorce

Initial Filling

Initial Filing

Court Fees

Court Fees

Serving a Spouse

Serving a Spouse

Finalizing a Divorce

Finalizing a Divorce

Grounds for Divorce

Michigan belongs to a list of purely no-fault states, which means that there is no need to report specific marital misconduct committed by the other party in order to get divorced. In turn, divorce can be granted if:

  • there has been a breakdown in the marital relationship, and
  • the marriage cannot be preserved under any circumstances.

Even though these conditions seem complicated at first sight, they are actually not. Simply put, a judge will grant a divorce if the relationship is over and there's no chance to reconcile.

Initial Filing

For the initial submission, divorcing partners are required to prepare appropriate divorce papers and file them with the Circuit Court Clerk in the county where one of the spouses has resided for the past 10 days.

Couples seeking an uncontested divorce can use Michigan's streamlined procedure known as a "Summary Proceeding for Entry of Consent Judgment." As a result, they can skip some of the steps in the regular process of starting a divorce case (for example, there's no need to formally serve the other spouse with the divorce forms).

Court Fees

The amount of mandatory filing fees mainly depends on whether the couple has children. Spouses without children will have to pay $175 (it includes a $25 electronic system transaction fee) when filing divorce paperwork. Partners with children will be charged nearly $255-295 (this payment most often includes $80 for a custody and parenting time fee and $40 for a child support fee).

Serving a Spouse

Within 91 days after the date of filing, the plaintiff (a person initiating a divorce case) should inform the other party that legal action is taken against them. It can be done in one of the following ways:

  • By asking any person who is at least 18 years old and who is not a party to the divorce to serve the defendant personally
  • Through a process server or sheriff's deputy
  • By registered or certified mail along with a return receipt request

Finalizing a Divorce

To finalize a divorce, spouses will have to attend a court hearing. During this hearing, the judge will review the paperwork to make sure it is fair and satisfies the expectations of both parties. If yes, the judge will sign a final divorce judgment, thereby terminating the marriage officially.

Getting a Divorce Without a Lawyer in Michigan

Getting a Divorce Without a Lawyer

With the help of a divorce law attorney, Michigan residents can negotiate a divorce settlement regarding marital estate and child-related issues. In total, average costs for Michigan divorce lawyers are $9,000 to $12,000, which is a substantial financial loss for most divorcing couples in the state.

Therefore, to save a vast amount of money and time, spouses going through an amicable route can get divorced without legal assistance. A do-it-yourself (DIY) divorce can be a perfect option for people who:

  • Have reached a full agreement on all divorce-related issues, including property division, spousal support, child custody, and so on;
  • Have agreed to deal with the divorce process on their own.

Plus, to simplify the whole process of terminating a marriage in Michigan, people living in this state can use online divorce services provided by CompleteCase.com as a part of a DIY divorce. Accordingly, instead of researching the state's law and gathering the documentation to prepare divorce forms, soon-to-be-ex spouses can focus on other aspects of their lives.

Getting a Divorce with Children in Michigan

Getting a Divorce with Children in Michigan

Child Custody

Under Michigan family law, it is in the best interests of children to maintain a close relationship with both parents. In other words, joint custody (both legal and physical) is the most preferable option considered by local courts. However, before awarding any type of custody, the judge usually takes into account a variety of factors, including:

Child Support

Child support is financial support made by one or both parents to meet the basic needs of their child. If parents fail to reach an agreement on this aspect independently, the judge will decide it considering the parents' income(s), their parenting time, and the number of children to support. To estimate a share of financial support, divorcing parents can use Michigan's Child Support Formula.

Waiting Period in Michigan

Waiting Period in Michigan

In Michigan, the length of the mandatory waiting period depends on whether the couple has minor children. For instance, spouses with no children need to go through a 60-day waiting period after filing divorce documents with a court. People with children, in turn, will have to follow a 180-day waiting period before their divorce can be finalized.

The law requires these waiting periods for a combination of several reasons. They are as follows:

  1. It is an opportunity for reconciliation.
  2. It is needed for financial preparations.
  3. It is necessary to resolve divorce-related issues completely (if any).
  4. It is required to ensure children's interests are fully protected (e.g., parents need to line up daycare, schools, visitation schedules, etc.).

Residency Requirements

To apply for a divorce in Michigan, people are required to follow both requirements outlined below:

  • At least one of the spouses has lived in the state for a minimum of 180 days immediately preceding the filing of the divorce paperwork.
  • At least one of the spouses has resided in the county where the divorce paperwork is filed for a minimum of 10 days before the divorce case is started.

It’s possible to get out of the 10-day requirement:

  • If the defendant is not a legal resident of the US.
  • If minor children are at risk of being removed from the US by the defendant.
Residency Requirements in Michigan

Frequently Asked Questions

Our Customer Commitment

  • Thousands of dollars saved in legal fees
  • Easy and fast process
  • Up-to-date and 100% accurate forms
  • Phone and email help from our experienced customer care specialists
  • Unlimited changes to your forms within 30 days
  • Ideal solution for home and abroad military members
  • Optional last will and testament completion and storage ($500 value)

Customer Feedback